The Truth About Leaving

 

Readers who recognized a kindred spirit in Stephanie Perkins’ Anna Oliphant or fell in love with Huntley Fitzpatrick’s Jase Garrett, will find a new best friend and book boyfriend in Lucy Green and Dov Meiri.

Lucy Green thought she had her senior year in the bag. Cute boyfriend? Check. College plan? Check.
 
But when her boyfriend dumps her the week before school starts and she literally stumbles into Dov, the new Israeli transfer student, on her first day of school, Lucy’s carefully mapped-out future crumbles.
 
Determined to have a good senior year, and too busy trying to hold her family together while her mom is across the country working, Lucy ignores the attraction she feels to Dov. But soon, Lucy and Dov’s connection is undeniable. Lucy begins to realize that sometimes, you have to open yourself up to chance. Even if the wrong person at the wrong time is a boy whose bravery you admire and who helps you find your way back to yourself. 

Interested in ordering?

 

Advance Praise

 

"Lucy Green has every intention of getting through her senior year without the distraction of dating. The sting of being dumped by her college-bound boyfriend is still too real, and she’s needed at home to babysit her two little brothers. Besides, she has to keep her grades up if her early-decision college application is going to be accepted. But when she’s partnered in poetry class with Dov, a new transfer student from Israel, attraction inconveniently rears its head. Lucy has a lot on her plate, and Blitt competently depicts her struggle to balance family expectations and obligations with personal happiness. Her relationship with Dov is sweet but complicated, given his determination to return to Israel in a year and join the army. This and stresses at home push her to look more deeply at her once-obvious decisions to give up ballet and to go to college. Many teens will identify with the pressures that accompany high-school graduation, and they’ll appreciate how the story places a positive emphasis on self-care and pursuing one’s passions."

~Booklist

 

"Romantic and hopeful, THE TRUTH ABOUT LEAVING is both a gorgeous love story and a profound journey to self-discovery. Lucy and Dov are one of my favorite YA couples. Perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Jennifer E. Smith, and Emery Lord."

~Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of

YOU'LL MISS ME WHEN I'M GONE & OUR YEAR OF MAYBE

 

"Equal parts swoony and serious, romantic and realistic, The Truth About Leaving is a true delight. Readers will cheer for Lucy and Dov in this thoughtful exploration of family, friendship, loyalty, and the choices that shape our lives."

~Laurie Flynn, author of FIRSTS and LAST GIRL LIED TO

 

“A gorgeous, nuanced story of self-discovery and what happens when we dare to spread our wings and fly. The Truth About Leaving is a glorious love letter to my hopeful teen heart—and a timeless reminder that sometimes the best laid plans are the ones we don’t make.”

 

~Darcy Woods, award-winning author of SUMMER OF SUPERNOVAS

 

"Here’s the truth about THE TRUTH ABOUT LEAVING – this book broke me in the best way possible. Lucy is such a caring, open-hearted character, a girl who, as many girls are taught to do, takes care of everyone else’s needs before her own. So it’s perhaps inevitable when she falls for handsome, damaged Dov. Blitt gives us a portrait of two young people with a strong sense of responsibility and honor – and their romance both honors that in both of them and helps each find their own path, even when that means finding the courage to stand up for their own needs. I was honestly not sure how Blitt would be able to pull a satisfying ending out of their predicament, but oh yes, she did, and I’ll be thinking about Lucy and Dov and this gem of a book for a long time."

~Kathy MacMillan, author of the SWORD AND VERSE series 

 

 

"Natalie Blitt brilliantly weaves together characters that are both real and rare with this contemporary coming-of-age story. I walked in Lucy's shoes, and I fell for Dov right alongside her. Blitt's ability to make you feel the youthful, often painful and joyous emotions of growing up is a gift. The Truth About Leaving is more than just a teen love story, it's a journey we've all walked in one way or another, or will walk very soon."

 

~Ginger Scott, Amazon bestselling YA romance author

and Goodreads Choice Nominated Author for Best YA

 

"... the characters are so well-drawn that many readers will have a very nice time in their company."

~Kirkus Reviews

The Official Announcement

FOLLOW ME
  • Facebook Grunge
  • Twitter Grunge
  • Instagram Grunge

© 2015 by Natalie Blitt. Proudly created with Wix.com